happy birthday momma!

I’m not going to get into why I’ve been absent for a month in this post – but I promise to discuss it tomorrowish. Today – we jump right into celebrating.

You see, this woman deserves a post. Not only because it’s her birthday or because she birthed me  – which should be stated was the raddest thing she ever did (the latter, in case you were wondering) – but because she birthed this business. I’ll explain.

At four years old I watched my parents divorce and my mom took on being a single mom with a vengeance. Considering the circumstances, she had every right to be pissed off and bitter. She had all the trimmings in her backpack of past experiences to teach my brother and I about hatred and emotional walls and resentment. As the saying goes, it would be an understatement to say she was well-equipped to dish out such teachings. Yet here she was at 21 years old, newly divorced with two young children on the hip, teaching us about love. Teaching us that we are not better than anyone and surely no one is better than us, that the best way to live is to “be”, and that at the end of the day we should never settle for anything less than what we truly deserve.

I say my mother birthed this business because she preserved in me a frame of mind that is diligent and hardworking, confident and joyous, and ever-reminded that everyone is human and equally capable of making mistakes and being loved. I shake what my Momma gave me all the way down into my soul…because that’s how she taught me to roll. I wear my heart on my sleeve and work to find the most intimate source of love existing between those in front of my camera…because that’s how she taught me to roll. I hug my clients after our sessions because I know I’ve genuinely made a new friend…because that’s how she taught me to roll. I stand as tall as this 5’3″ frame can stand and look the mean girls in their eyes after they’ve sassed me and beaten my heart into an ugly mess, and say with a smile, “Take care, I really hope you find happiness”…because that’s how she taught me to roll. Then I bounce back, better than ever…because…well…you know by now…

Mom, I hope that on your birthday you see how much you’ve succeeded through not only your personal endeavors but in the ways that your children have turned out to be honorable members of society. We are out there doing exactly as you taught us, sharing love…sharing smiles…sharing proof that it’s not always easy but dammit it can always be worse. I’m so happy you were born! No one else would’ve been a better fit as a mother for this firecracker. I love you!

love (my momma),
jenifriend

2 responses

  1. Happy Birthday Cindy!!!

    Beautiful post Jeni! She’s pretty awesome & that smile is contagious!

    28 April 2011 at 11:50 am

  2. Excellent post Jeni. You forgot to mention that she gives perfectly-fitting pants to mothers in need..;)

    28 April 2011 at 12:30 pm

Leave a Reply

