end of month photo breakdown

I can’t believe people think I’m an okay Photographer. I mean…I guess I can admit (though humbly so) that I take relatively good pictures…but to have others ask me how to take pictures…that’s pretty cool. Like…really cool.

I don’t really know how to do this whole tutorial thing. I just tried my hands at guest blog posting last week and received some positive feedback on it, but I’m no pro when it comes to breaking down how I do something. Today I’ll share with you how I achieved my desired shot in camera. Perhaps in the future I’ll break down how I edit, but for today…just the basics.

I’m a fan of good lighting. There are really easy ways to find good lighting opportunities, and they all reside with…frankly…getting off your bum. Sure, I understand that not all photographic opportunities allow you to move the subject. If the moment is there…capture it and deal with the editing later if you must. If you have the time, though, to utilize your surroundings in the best possible way to maximize your photography results in camera, I encourage you to take advantage.

For this image I used our bedroom…

Yeah…unmade bed…dog kennel…just like the sweet room of loooove you envisioned, right?

My subject is a perfume bottle I own…

The light coming from the window was really stark, so I knew I wanted to use it to light up the backside of the bottle. From the shots above it doesn’t appear to be much light, but when you get up close on the perfume bottle…

Loads of light! Yummo! Now obviously…this image is boring. It needed some dimension and I already envisioned it in black and white so I wanted to ensure the light hit in ways that allowed for a good amount of contrast in my final image. So I tilted the camera, zoomed in and focused on the wording “Orange” on the bottle and voila!

How’d I do? It’s my first tutorial…and maybe this isn’t even a tutorial…maybe it’s just me talking out loud acting like I know a thing or two…take it easy on me but let me know if this helps. If I confused you more or generated questions please comment here – your questions just may fuel next months tutorial!

Happy Monday!

love (that it’s almost March),
jenifriend

5 responses

  1. Here’s a question for you. I like to photograph things like that to enhance my posts ya know, but my apartment has AWFUL light. Well, I have some nice big picture windows, but they don’t necessarily provide enough good light where I need it.

    You mentioned on your guest blog post about using tv stands and such. Where do you find ones that you like? I tried to photograph a new project I’m doing, and the photos turned out quite terrible! Ha 🙂

    28 February 2011 at 11:53 am

    • great question rachel! the tv trays i have on hand we received as a wedding gift, and they came from target. they are black laminate wood and really create a nice, basic placement for subjects. if you have an ottoman that has a nice flush surface that is a basic color, i would recommend that. if you’re getting up close on the subject you could also use a flat-colored dish such as a dinner plate or charger plate. something else you could consider are table mats and baskets (you can flip this upside down to place an item on instead of in)…i hope i’m helping!

      regarding the awful lighting in your apartment, have you tried opening up the doors when you’re photographing? i’ve found that the ambient light reflecting off the door is really nice, because typically apartment doors are either gray or white. thanks – you’ve given me a great next post topic!

      28 February 2011 at 12:37 pm

  2. Carrie Hellbusch

    Perfection!!

    28 February 2011 at 1:25 pm

  3. That perfume looked so good, I wanted to eat it…er..not really. But it was an awesome shot, regardless. I can only hope, when you photograph me in the future, you can rotate me in much the same way, so as to make me appear that I glow, in the same fashion…I want to wear a little black bow as well…:)

    28 February 2011 at 3:37 pm

  4. What lens were you using and what settings were you at?

    3 April 2011 at 8:36 pm

Leave a Reply

