weekend getaways and hardcore friendships

If I had a dollar for every time she was there for me, I’d be a millionaire. If she had a penny for every time I made a grammatical error that she corrected…she’d also be a millionaire. It’s like that in our relationship – we take care of each other in any way possible.

I sat staring at the invitation to a party one evening. It was in Springfield – 2 hours away – I was about to select “not attending” when Jeff intervened and told me that I had to go, no matter how far I had to drive. He said I needed her…and she needed me. He was so amazingly correct in that statement.

We chased sunsets, tried on real cowboy hats, wine tasted, and curled up in bed together with big squeezey hugs. I helped her decide which jeans to wear with which top…she let me borrow her brand new Coach clutch before she had a chance to use it. I picked the mushrooms out of her stir fry at lunch…we shared a dinner entrée because we couldn’t decide on anything else besides the exact same thing. As usual.

We didn’t have a lot of time together – just under 48 hours to be precise – but I filled my heart in those two days than I have in months. Lord knows I needed that kind of realness.

She is one of my favorite girls. She is strong, incredible, undeniably beautiful, real…sensational. She is faithful and deserving of big love.

Keep on truckin’ Vicki…the journey is what creates you, my love.

love (15 year friendships),
jenifriend

2 responses

  1. Glad see a another dive cafe member. These shots would be very fun to add texture too!

    8 February 2011 at 3:11 pm

  2. Wow! This post hit home for me. Those old, true friendships are priceless. Great post!

    10 February 2011 at 4:25 pm

Leave a Reply

