i’m a crybaby

At first it was something others thought to be sentimental and sweet. I’d see an occasional Hallmark commercial and, without any reservation, I’d tear up. These days though it’s gotten out of hand. Completely. The Olympics just have a way of setting off my crybaby mechanism like woah. The opening ceremonies? I cried – twice. I thought I had it under control though after the “tree dancing” part.

Then came theΒ commercial from P&G that’s dedicated to the Mom’s that shows their kids who are now adults through their eyes…as their babies still. That one threw me over the edge. There was no turning back. I sobbed and sobbed and sobbed.

What I’m saying is, it ain’t cute to the spectators anymore. I’m no longer sentimental and sweet. I’m annoying and…dorky. And overtly-emotional. And everyone makes fun. Haters. πŸ™‚

I hope you all are enjoying the Olympics as much as I am. They stoke me up and really make me feel such pride for the hard work and dedication each person puts into their sport. It’s amazing what they’ll do to be an Olympian. Their efforts, no matter how futile, are never wasted. I’m taking notes – never waste the moments – no matter how futile. It’s in the scarcity of all the big things that we find the most meaning…in the small barely significant moments of life. Remember the futile – reach the grand. Achieve the dream God set before you to achieve.

love (babies wrapped in bows),
jenifriend

7 responses

  1. You aren’t the only crybaby…my mom is the same way, probably worse than you! She still hasn’t been able to live down the fact that she cried at a Free Willy preview way back in the day πŸ˜›

    love the teaser…can’t wait to see more!

    16 February 2010 at 9:13 am

  2. Aha ha ha ha! You crack me up Jeni! I do know that P&G commercial you are talking about, but I laughed because I thought it was clever… Do you tear up when some underdog wins the gold metal too? πŸ™‚

    16 February 2010 at 10:05 am

    • shhh mike! i do!! don’t make fun; punk! πŸ™‚

      17 February 2010 at 9:41 am

  3. Oh, I totally cried during the Opening Ceremonies! I was sobbing when Georgia came out and everyone stood up. They all looked so sad and I completely lost it.

    BTW, I’m a new blog follower and love your work!

    16 February 2010 at 10:35 am

    • hello sarah and thank you so much for visiting my blog, venturing into my world! i looking forward to seeing you around in the future!! πŸ™‚

      16 February 2010 at 10:50 pm

  4. I was a terrible commercial crybaby before I got pregnant, now it’s just out of hand. Seth made me stop watching PS I love you in my second trimester becuase I couldn’t get thru it without pausing it and snot sobbing about how he needed to go right now and right me some letters in case he got a brain tumor and died. Ahh emotions, I wear them on my sleeve-which I think makes me a better person. πŸ™‚ At least that is what I tell myself after a box of tissues. Thank God for DVR and the ability to fast forward thru them, or I’d be in “Ferngully” hell right now.

    16 February 2010 at 10:49 am

    • oh don’t even get me started on p.s. i love you! we’ll have to chat about that one sometime! πŸ™‚

      17 February 2010 at 9:41 am

Leave a Reply

