selective colorization

A personal goal in photography this year is to be more adventurous with Photoshop.  Don’t get me wrong, I am a firm believer Photoshop should be a tool used to accentuate an already beautiful photo, not used in an attempt to make a bad photo look better…it always just ends up looking over-processed.  I, however, don’t know jack (who came up with this phrase anyway?) about Photoshop besides a few minor tricks.

Here is my first attempt at selective colorization.  I started small, with my niece’s eyes.

dsc04381-edit-sig

3 responses

  1. Kristen

    Looks good!!! Don’t know Jack is a board game BTW. LOL!

    I want to learn my color curves better to enhance my photos. It’s such a PITA.

    5 January 2009 at 9:45 am

    • Ooooh, is that where the saying came from? A board game?! That’s funny. 🙂

      Color curves are a lot of fun. I don’t know how to use them productively right now…I went wacky with them and made Andy Warhol-esque pictures, but I have to learn how to use it so it actually makes a difference in my picture when I want it to look natural.

      5 January 2009 at 2:02 pm

  2. Kristen

    That’s totally me. I want them to look natural but grab the color that wasn’t totally grabbed from the picture. Gracie’s a perfect model. HA! I want her gorgeous blue eyes!

    6 January 2009 at 3:43 pm

Leave a Reply

